Town purchases Coke Ave property for affordable housing

News Release Date
Back to News
Dr. Michael Sasscer, Joy Harvill, Mayor Hackney High and Tyler Newman at the Coke Avenue property recently purchased by the Town of Edenton from the Edenton-Chowan Educational Foundation for $60,000

EDENTON -- The Town of Edenton is thrilled to announce that we have officially purchased 11.6 acres of land at 262 Coke Avenue from the Edenton-Chowan Educational Foundation, with our primary goal for the property being the development of affordable housing!

A community project decades in the making, we were excited to work with the Educational Foundation to make this happen. The town council voted last fall to approve the purchase for $60,000, with the closing occurring just last week. This purchase reaffirms council’s intent to continue pursuing more affordable housing options within our community, as we have seen a growing need for it. The site is where the former Chowan Veneer plant was located, before its demolition in 2007. 

“On behalf of the Town of Edenton, we are delighted to take part in this endeavor, and to partner with our educational leaders to make it happen,” said Mayor Hackney High. “We have always supported our public schools, and this purchase of $60,000 towards our affordable housing goals will directly support the mission of the Educational Foundation, which in turn benefits our schoolchildren.”

The Educational Foundation, for those unaware, is one of the greatest champions of Edenton-Chowan Schools. Because of its mission to raise awareness for school needs and gain support for teachers and students — via financial aid, manpower, and scholarships — we hope they will continue to be a vital asset and partner to us in the years to come.

Please join us in celebrating this significant milestone for our community! 

(pictured from L-R are Dr. Michael Sasscer, ECPS Superintendent; Joy Harvill, ECEF Executive Director; W. Hackney High Jr., Mayor of Edenton; and Tyler Newman, Public Information Officer for Edenton & ECEF Secretary)